What your horoscope says about your gambling luck

As you may remember my primary occupation at the moment is as an astrologer. But I’m not a “normal” astrologer – I practice vedic astrology, or as it’s actually called, Jyotish. This is a very old technique from India. I used to work with your bread-and-butter kind of western astrology previously when I stumbled over vedic astrology completely by accident and was immediately intrigued by the fact that in vedic astrology, most people have different ascendants, providing another opportunity for potentially improving my own pretty dismal astrological chart. So I checked it out, and I liked the fact that I had a Scorpio Sun in vedic astrology, but I had two planets in the 6th house (for those non-astrology-buffs out there: that’s not good), so of course I decided it was total bullshit and western astrology was waay above that antiquated, tribal nonsense. Then I read a few more articles on vedic astrology and made a few calculations and it took me about a month until I was ready to admit: this shit works. And it works way better than the western kind I used to practice. And those two planets in the 6th are totally accurate.

So that’s how I became a vedic astrologer, in a nutshell. And I still think Jyotish is totally nifty, because it gives you a lot of predictive options that don’t exist in western astrology. Really, the biggest problem with Jyotish is that it is sometimes too accurate, so you learn of all sort of life events you would rather not have known about in advance! Anyway, there’s one really cool trick you can do with jyotish, and that is assessing the gambling luck of a person. This is really good for me, because I’ve been doing a fair bit of gambling lately, which is not usually a habit of mine (believe it or not). But I would not recommend my method of gambling for lottery ticket money to just anyone. That’s because yes, some people simply are luckier than others. (It’s a karmic thing.) So what if you have your vedic chart and you want to figure out whether gambling is a kinda bad idea for you, or a very, very bad idea?

1. The all-important 5th house

Someone who will be lucky in gambling will absolutely need a strong 5th house. The 5th house stands for gambling, fun, romance, politics, speculation and easy gains. So this is non-negotiable. If you have a weak house, forget it. Don’t gamble – you’ll lose.

Signs of a strong 5th house:

– the ruler of the 5th house in the 5th house (e.g. if your 5th is in the sign of Scorpio, then Mars (who rules Scorpio – jyotish doesn’t use the outer planets) would have to be in the 5th house.

– an exalted or mulatrikona planet in the 5th house (for example, Jupiter in Pisces would be exalted)

– the ruler of the 5th house in his own sign, exalted or mulatrikona (e.g. if the 5th house is in Virgo, then look at the ruler of Virgo, which is Mercury. If Mercury is in either the sign of Virgo or Gemini, he will be exalted or in his own sign, which makes Mercury strong, which makes the 5th house strong); However, weak planets in the 5th will alter this prognosis; if the ruler of the 5th is in a bad house, this will also alter the prognosis

– a strong 5th house ruler in houses 8, 9, 11 (8=sudden windfalls, 9=good luck, 11=gains)

– a ruler of a good house (8,9,11) in the 5th (e.g. if in your chart the 9th house is in Libra, then the ruler of the 9th is Venus; if Venus is not weak, and she enters the 5th house, that is good)

If you have these placements and no contradicting other placements, you can gamble with some success.

*

Signs of a weak 5th house:

– a weak planet in the 5th house (e.g. if the planet is in a sign of an enemy or in his fallen sign, for example Moon in Scorpio)

– the ruler of the 5th house in a weak sign (e.g. if the 5th is in Pisces, the ruler of the 5th will be Jupiter. If Jupiter is in, say, Virgo or Libra, he will be weak and make the 5th house weak in turn)

– the ruler of the 5th in a bad house, e.g. 4,6,12 (4=the 12th house from the 5th =dissolution of luck; 6 =poverty; 12=dissolution of winnings; if the 5th house is ruled by Taurus, and Venus is in one of these houses, that’s not good)

– a ruler of a bad house in the 5th, e.g. 4,6,12 (if the 4th house is in Aries, and Mars is in the 5th… not good for gambling).

If you more than 1 of these placements, you should probably not gamble, because you are not karmically allowed to win money at gambling.

*

Personally, I’m lucky – my 5th house is in Libra, and I have Venus in the 5th. That’s a strong money planet in its own house of gambling. However, my Venus also rules the 12th house, bringing an energy of dissolution into the 5th. The thing is, my 12th house is in itself pretty materialistic – it has exalted Moon and a weakish Jupiter in Taurus, so that probably balanced things out a bit – the result is that winnings are possible, it’s just that I’ll probably just spend them! Which is pretty much what I’m doing, since I’m gambling to make money to spend on lottery tickets, LOL. So that’s vedic astrology for ya!

If you want to figure out whether you have a weak or strong 5th, I recommend downloading the free astrology software Jagannatha Hora, which you can find by googling, and simply entering your birth data. It is a little confusing at first since there are no house numbers, zodiac signs or aspects in the chart graphic, but you can check the handy table on the right for your placements until you figure the graph out (which is pretty easy, really). Soo… have fun gambling (or not)!

Leave a comment